The 62nd World Science Fiction Convention

  • Sept. 2-6, 2004
  • Boston, MA

At-Con Weblogs

« September 2004 | Main | March 2005 »

October 29, 2004

Conquest of the Moon Retrospective Hugo

The Noreascon Four Retrospective Hugo Award for Best Related Book written in 1953 went to Werner von Braun, Fred Whipple, and Willie Ley for Conquest of the Moon. The trophy now has pride of place in a special exhibit on the influence of science fiction on the careers of von Braun and other rocketry pioneers at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama.

Patrick Molloy, N4's Site Selection director and exhibits liaison to NASA, notes that the special exhibit will run through May 2005, after which time the Hugo Award will be placed in the Center's permanent exhibit of von Braun's office.

Here are some pictures Naomi Fisher took of Pat and the trophy.