The 62nd World Science Fiction Convention

  • Sept. 2-6, 2004
  • Boston, MA

At-Con Weblogs

« In Memoriam | Main | Frequently Asked Questions »

September 21, 2003

Hugo Subcommittee Appointed

Section 3.12 of the World Science Fiction provides that "No member of the current Worldcon Committee or any publications closely connected with a member of the Committee shall be eligible for [a Hugo] Award. However, should the Committee delegate all authority under this Article to a Subcommittee whose decisions are irrevocable by the Worldcon Committee, then this exclusion shall apply to members of the Subcommittee only."

Noreascon 4 has chosen to appoint a Hugo Subcommittee under this provision. The members of the Hugo Subcommittee are Deb Geisler, Mark Olson, and Rick Katze. So, now any member of Noreascon Four's hard-working committee is eligible to be nominated for a Hugo award -- except Geisler, Olson, and Katze, none of whom have a novel at the publishers just now.